My Name is Precious

Well yesterday evening I was ready to write and post my blog, and no internet. We switched internet carriers and had service installed Friday. After the nice man left I called to give my debit card so payment could be automatically deducted, I am the worst for paying bills, but was informed that my account would not “set” until 24 hours so just call on Monday. Well yesterday I had internet all day and called twice and left messages both times, no return call, then Monday evening, no internet. I was not a happy camper, so after getting my phone from trying to connect to the internet that wasn’t there, I finally found the 1-800 number, called, and was able to get through the first question, “Do you currently have service with us? If yes push 1”, so 1 pushed; second question, “Enter your account number or phone number attached to the account.” Well I had no account number so I entered my phone number only to find there is no account linked to that number. So after hanging up and calling back, several times and finally finding the right sequence to a live person, (hint when you call cable, internet, phone, etc. hit the button for signing up for new service, they answer that one right away) only for LaShawnda to tell me she would have to transfer me to Customer Service; which was supposedly the department I was directed to. Okay hold time 10 minutes, after 47 minutes of hearing how the customer service representatives were helping other customers, and how important my call is to them, and for quicker assistance I could log onto their web site (NOT), Marion finally answered; Marion should have been aware in the last 47 minutes I had finished off a half bottle of wine; yes, I will regret that Friday, but this was Monday. He finally found my account and then, cross my fingers and hope to die, we were disconnected; the line just went silent in the middle of Marion’s sentence. I will not type the words Roomie heard from me, but he didn’t bother to come downstairs to see what was going on, remember the half bottle of wine. However, we had internet 5 minutes later and no debit card was ever given. The company did return my phone calls from yesterday this morning. Speaking of LaShawnda, you do realize customer service representatives in call centers very seldom us their own name and they have great fun in choosing a name for the day. I have an acquaintance who manages an extremely large call-center in Orangeburg and she told me that they can choose any name they want, a few are off limits, and when they sign in for their shift they enter the name they are using and it comes up in their “script” and is recorded so if the customer calls back the company will know who they spoke with. I choose to be called “Precious” tomorrow.
Roomie has banned Fairy Eggplants from the meals for one week. Could be I have pushed his limits with “several” new recipes and still have 20 – 30 of the little darlings left, and the garden is full of them. They are wonderful roasted. Slice in half lengthwise, rub some olive oil, salt and pepper on them and roast for 20 minutes at 400 degrees. I always peel my regular eggplant, because I seem to think the peel is tough and “off-putting”, but these are not.
Warm Eggplant and Goat Cheese Sandwiches
Roomie and I cut shrubbery Saturday, Lord I need to sell this house, so lunch had to be quick and good. If it took too long I would never get either one of us back out to finish it. This was perfect.

1 Tab olive oil
3 – 4 Fairly eggplants (If you don’t have Fairly eggplant just use a small regular eggplant, but peel it)
Salt/pepper
¼ cup goat cheese, softened
2 large or 4 small rustic sandwich rolls, crispy ones are good
Sliced tomato
Arugula

• Preheat oven to 275 degrees.
• If using Fairy eggplant cut into 3 slices long way, if using regular eggplant slice into rounds about ¼” thick. Brush oil on eggplant.
• Heat a large skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Add eggplant in single layer, may have to do in batches. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and cook on each side until lightly browned.
• While eggplant are cooking spread goat cheese on cut side of each roll. Place rolls on a baking sheet, cheese side up, and bake for 8 – 10 minutes or until thoroughly heated.
• Remove bread from oven; top bottom half of each roll with eggplant, tomato, and arugula and close roll top.

89 days and 17.22 lbs. (Maybe) till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

