Max or Maxine They Both Spell Love

Praise the Lord we finally got some much needed rain. It was so dry on my walk/runs for the last several weeks, my shoes and up to about a foot above my ankles have been so dusty I have been taking my shoes and socks off under the garage. I love hearing the rain and the thunder, but the lightening; not so much. When I was in high-school my Daddy I went to take the trash off one day and came home with a puppy, much to my Mama’s dismay. Max was the first dog my Daddy and I had ever had. We both knew Mama wasn’t going to be very pleased, but we both fell in love with that puppy and decided to go for it. For some reason, I cannot remember, we thought it was a male and I named him Max instantly. Sometimes a name just comes and fits instantly: then when we took Max to the vet for surgery, and found out I should have named her Maxine. Her vet file said Maxine but she was always Max. Max turned out to be both of my parents third child. She followed Daddy on the tractor up and down each row and his truck seldom left the farm without her in it. If Daddy went to delivered produce at the market, everyone expected Max to be in the truck and made a point to come by to speak to her and pat her; and for Mama, she would make gravy every morning to put on her dog food. Yes, I said every morning. Max was an outside dog except when there was a storm. She was petrified of thunder. When a storm came, she was coming in the house some way and even though she was never trained, during a storm she would go behind Daddy’s recliner and lay there till the storm passed, then was ready to go out. Now one of our four inside cats, Finch, is scared of thunder.
I left my house yesterday morning and this morning at 5:00 am and returned home around 5:00 pm, so I am a wee bit tired. One sure way to tell was when roomie got home yesterday around 6:30 pm and asked what was for dinner, I showed him a can of New England Clam Chowder and he was thrilled, but that does not happen very often in our house. I found some left-overs in the refrigerator which I warmed up and barely remember eating. Tonight I am going to try to get the energy to make Taco Salad.
Coconut Red Lentil Curry
Daughter had made this for dinner one night and sent me the link. I made it this weekend and loved it. Roomies’ biggest issue was the jalapeno pepper we had wasn’t very hot, he would have liked it with more “heat.” If you must have meat, add some rotisserie chicken to it after it is cooked. http://bakinandeggs.com/2010/01/25/68-days-of-gourmet-coconut-red-lentil-curry/

1 medium onion, finely diced
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 tablespoon fresh ginger, minced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon turmeric
1 teaspoon salt
1 fresh jalapeño or serrano chile, finely diced, including seeds
2 cups water or vegetable stock
1 1/2 cups dried red lentils (about 10 ounces)
1 (13- to 14-ounce) can unsweetened coconut milk (I used lite)
1 pound zucchini (about 2 medium), diced
1 cup loosely packed fresh cilantro sprigs (omitted, cilantro is Brandon’s least favorite herb!)
Steamed brown or white rice, for serving – (I must not have read this part until now, I just put it in a bowl with a dollop of non-fat Greek yogurt on top.)

• Heat oil in a 3-4 quart heavy pot over medium heat. Add onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until edges are golden, about 6 minutes. Add ginger and garlic and cook for 1 more minute. Add cumin, coriander, turmeric, salt and chili pepper and cook, stirring, 1 minute.
• Stir in water or broth, lentils and coconut milk. Bring to a simmer and then cover and cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in zucchini and simmer, covered, until lentils and zucchini are tender, about 15 minutes. Season with salt and serve over rice with cilantro sprigs scattered on top.
87 days and 17.22 lbs till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

