Popsicles

Wrote this Friday and was waiting to post it; got a text about my house being shown on Saturday morning, so I jumped into crazy yard work and cleaning mode and totally forgot. Then daughter was here all weekend and I had (sorry) better things to do.
FYI had a great time, as in social and completion, in Camden today at the Springdale at Sunrise 5K. I was a bit worried when there were only about 80 people in the race and they all look like the roadrunner I became a bit worried; I mean someone has to be last, right? It wasn’t me; I had a really good time for me. Exactly double of my daughter’s, but then she is a runner. Thanks to Macie and Wilson Davis for the delicious breakfast after.
Well no change in weight today. Glad no gain, because it has been a hard long work week and exercise has been minimal, read that at non-existent. Have a 5K in Camden tomorrow with daughter and Gracie (grand-dog
I don’t know where I have been all summer. I saw something on some food blog last night where she had made frozen fruit popsicles and they looked so good I got up this morning and made some for a family treat tonight.

fruit pops

Frozen Fruit Popsicles
Use any three fruit combinations you want, but the fruit should all be frozen and ALWAYS use a frozen banana. It adds the creaminess so they aren’t iced.

This is what I had in the freezer so it is what I used.

1 frozen banana
Frozen Mango
Frozen pineapple (The last of the pineapple I froze from my daughter’s wedding on New Year’s Eve.)
¾ cup apple juice (Recipe called for pineapple juice, but I didn’t have any so I used what I had.)

• Place all in food processor or blender and process until creamy. I added only ½ cup juice at first and then added slowly so it wouldn’t become too thin.
• I only had 5 popsicle containers, no idea where the other one disappeared to but I have the lid, so I put some in a pint container.
• Freeze and hope they last until daughter gets here tonight.

86 days and 17.22 lbs till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment