Pray for Pauls Valley, Oklahoma

Most of us remember sitting on the porch eating watermelon and spitting the seeds on the ground. When I was a kid, watermelon was a treat, now I have some in my refrigerator all season. It was a big deal and for some reason, like carving the turkey, only Daddy could cut it, which now that I think about it he cut the watermelon but never carved the turkey. We would go outside for Daddy to cut it, eat it, and spit the seeds on the ground. For years I refused to buy seedless watermelons because they were so much more expensive, but now that they are the same price, why would anyone buy one with seeds. Well I might be able to answer that question. Have you ever wondered where the seeds to grow seedless watermelon come from? I took to google for a little research, and no kidding, its kind weird. The best explanation, meaning the one that I could understand, was on Mental_Floss. “Normal, seeded watermelons are diploid (have 2 sets of chromosomes) just like us, with one set from mom and one from dad. When the two combine, their seeds grow into a plant that looks like a combination of its parents. Just like us. But sometimes farmers treat some of their watermelons with colchicine, a chemical that allows chromosomes to duplicate but prevents them from splitting into two cells. This creates a tetraploid – a super-squash with four complete sets of chromosomes. The fruit isn’t genetically modified; cells contain the same DNA as standard melons – just twice as many. Next, the farmer introduces this new tetraploid watermelon to a regular melon. If they hit it off, they’ll produce a triploid melon with 3 sets of chromosomes. This offspring will grow up to be a normal looking vine that produces flowers and fruit. But when it tries to reproduce, the chromosomes can’t divide properly. This means that real seeds never develop.” In summation, they are genetically and chemically mutated. I also found that colchicine, is widely used to treat gout, so that’s a plus, right? Since I have cut down on processed foods dramatically, do I eat seedless watermelons or not?
Every July 4th, the National Watermelon Seed-Spitting Contest is held in Pauls Valley Oklahoma. The record is held by a gentleman from Chicago who launched a seed for 67 feet in 1989. Is this the end to a tradition that has been an institution for over 50 years? They do still have the 20th Annual Pauls Valley Police Car Show and Brickfest and the
6th Annual Pauls Valley Marching Band Championships Parade; however neither of these are yet featured in Guinness Book of World Records; however the pictures on their web site makes me want to visit, it is beautiful. Pray for Pauls Valley survival.

Harvest Peach French Toast
This recipe came from Belue Farms in Boiling Springs, SC. I am trying to learn to like peaches, but not there yet, but closer.

10-12 one inch thick slices French bread
8 oz. package cream cheese softened
¼ cup confectioner’s sugar
3 cups fresh peaches, sliced
4 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 Tab. granulated sugar

• Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
• Mix cream cheese and confection sugar until smooth. Spread cream cheese mixture on bread slices, and arrange in single layer in lightly greased 13 x 9 pan.
• Whisk eggs, milk, and vanilla together, and pour over bread. Let sit for at least 5 minutes.
• Top with peach slices and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar.
• Bake 30 minutes (mine only took 20 minutes) or until set.

81 days and 17.22 lbs till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

