Me and God

You may or may not believe in God, but I do and every day I see so many things that remind me he is in control; and then there are all the many things that I miss because I am not paying attention. I like to think I have a “laid-back” relationship with God. I pretty much tell him everything, why not he already knows, but just in case he was busy when I did something really good. I have a feeling I am going to need every check mark beside my name one day I can get. I have been known to question if he is listening when my request aren’t filled quickly or, heaven forbid, at all. I have even quoted Matthew 7: 7-8,”Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened” to him. Hey he is a busy man an in my defense, it really doesn’t say anything about waiting or how long. I also cry and yell at him and I feel sure he understands and never says something like, “must be that time of month” or “hormones raging.” I have accepted the fact that when I get to the pearly gates I will have some explaining to do; and yes I feel sure I am going to the pearly gates. I have heard people say they have heard God speak to them. That would be awesome and I have even thought about what it would sound like; a deep voice clear voice calling my name. I also realize that it could have happened and I was talking and missed it. So if you don’t believe in God, I am sorry, give it a try, it doesn’t have to be the proper, perfect, or uptight relationship you may think; if so, I am in a lot of trouble. I like to think I give him plenty of laughs daily, probably some of those come in my request, and I know he gives me more than I deserve.
Sometimes when I sit to write my blog, I know exactly where I am going and it is magic, other times I think I know where I am going and it goes into an entirely different direction. I think that would sum up tonight’s blog. I don’t know if there was some “divine” intervention or what, but it is what it is.
Ginger Soy Pork Chops
As my long-time readers know, I don’t grill, outside anyway. I use my indoor grill on my Jenn Air and these work well.

4 – 6 bone in pork chops

Marinade:
¼ cup canola oil
¼ cup soy sauce
¼ cup rice vinegar
¼ cup rice vinegar
1 tsp dried red pepper flakes
2 tsp grated ginger
2 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp dried mustard

• Mix all marinade ingredient’s well. Place pork chops in Ziploc bag and pour marinade over chops. Marinate a minimum of 6 hours or overnight.
• Grill on medium to hot heat until done.

66 days and 17.22 lbs till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

