Don’t Go Near the Water

As a child I was always told I had to wait one hour before swimming after eating? Even then I thought this was bogus, and I still smile when I think about it, but for different reasons. My Mama believed that food in the stomach would weigh you down and could cause drowning. What really made me laugh was, my Mama always took my cousins and me swimming in the pond. While we swam she set on the bank shelling whatever she had picked from the garden. Why I smile, my Mama was petrified of water and could not swim a lick. (On her behalf, when I had kids she actually bought a bathing suit, first one, and would wade in the pool on a float up to her thighs.) I asked her many times exactly what she would do if one of us drowned. She always answered the same, “I can tell them where you went down.” As we know today waiting an hour was an old wise tale. There are two popular beliefs where this myth started.
First, it seems to have been believed that upon eating, the available blood in the body would flood to the stomach to help with digestion. This would deprived of proper blood flow and the limbs wouldn’t have enough blood available to be able to execute even a simple backstroke, leaving the swimmers to seize up with cramps and sink like frozen Anna when Elsa finished with her. (Two days in a row with a Frozen reference.)
Second, and the one I believe to be more likely, is this gave parents at least 60 minutes of peace after eating for them to rest.
There is no evidence today that one should wait before entering the waters after eating. Actually many professional swimmers eat mere minutes before competing to get a energy boost.
I was also told that if you swallowed your chewing gum would sit in your stomach for seven years because that is how long it would take to digest.
The only thing I was ever told I didn’t want to know if was true or not was “If you miss your curfew by one minute you will not be allowed out of the house until you are on your own!” I believed that until the night before my wedding day.
Crustless Zucchini Enchilada Quiche
Let’s finish up the rest of those summer zucchini with a great healthy dish. I received this recipe from a blog I follow iFoodreal.

1 cup enchilada sauce, I used the entire 10 ounce can because what would I do with 2 ounces
2 large eggs
½ cup egg whites
3 cups shredded zucchini, squeezed of liquid, about 2-3 large
5 corn tortillas, coarsely chopped
1 ¼ cup + ¼ cup Tex Mex cheese
½ cup cilantro
• Preheat oven to 375o.
• Whisk egg whites in a large bowl until foamy. Add zucchini, enchilada sauce, tortillas, 1 ¼ cup cheese, and cilantro and mix well. Spray a 9 inch baking dish and pour mixture into it. Sprinkle remaining ¼ cup cheese on top and bake for 40 minutes.
• Let cool a bit before slicing and serving.

61 days and 17.22 lbs till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

