Eight Yards

Finally, it’s here! What you may ask, FOOTBALL. I have been going to college football games since I was very young. My husband, both my children, and myself all graduated from Clemson and are diehard fans. Even though their Dad died when the kids were young, I made sure they understood football. There is nothing more aggravating than sitting at a football game and someone constantly asking questions, stupid questions. Asking questions during the game is not cute or enduring for any true football fan. Since Clemson is opening with Wofford, I will tell a true story about two Wofford “fans”. These two young gentlemen with Wofford shirts were sitting behind us possibly the last time we played Wofford at Clemson. Wofford was losing but was driving, one of the guys says to the other, “If we can keep making two yard on each down, we got this.” If you don’t understand what is wrong with this statement go ask someone. I was with Daughter and her friend Amanda and we just looked at each other and busted out laughing. The two guys were totally oblivious to the fact we were laughing at them or why.
I used to cook for 10 – 15 college kids for every home Clemson football game for many years. I set my menu on Monday, shopped on Tuesday, and started cooking on Wednesday. For Noon games I would pack everything in coolers, load coolers, and head out by 5:30 – 6:00 AM. Then unpack everything when I got home. I love tailgating and tailgating foods.
Tonight it will be just daughter and I, so it will be a vegetarian tailgate. We will be having Baked Blossoming Onion and Baked Tofu Sliders.
Baked Blossoming Onion
I love the blooming onions at known restaurant chain, but this is much healthier and delicious. Thisrecipe came from Fresh Start by Julee Rosso.

2 very large red onions, about 1 ½ pound
½ cup bread crumbs or Panko crumbs
1 tsp garlic powder
½ tsp paprika
2 egg whites

• Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Place parchment paper on a baking sheet or spray with olive oil.
• Peel the skin from the onions and trim the bottoms so that the onions will sit flat. Starting at the center of the top, cut 20-30 slits ¾ of the way down the onion. This will make a “flower” effect.
• In a bowl, combine bread crumbs, garlic powder, and paprika. In another bowl whisk the egg whites with a fork. Pour the egg whites into the center of the onions and sprinkle with seasoned crumbs.
• Spray onions lightly with olive oil spray and bake 40 – 50 minutes until the onions are browned.

Spicy Dipping Sauce

¾ cup nonfat cottage cheese
¼ cup mayo
1 ½ tsp prepared horseradish
1 tsp cayenne
Salt/pepper

• Use emersion blender to blend all ingredients. Serve at room temperature.

610days and 17.22 lbs till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

