Put Away Those White Pants

Happy Labor Day! There is an open house at my house this Sunday, so I started some work which didn’t require last minute. I also went and picked some beautiful pears for today’s recipe. The trees were loaded, but I mostly picked up pears which were on the ground. I knew they were ripe and since I was going to make a Crisp, I cut any bad spot off.
I have found a new podcast I am enjoying, Disney Story Origins by Paul Hale. He compares the original book (the origin) and the Disney movie made from the book. I have listened to The Little Mermaid, Aladdin, and Part One of Alice in Wonderland and have been fascinated by what I have learned. As I worked the origin of Labor Day crossed my mind, so I did some “googling” after my shower. According to the Constitution Daily in September 1882, the unions of New York City decided to have a parade to celebrate their members being in unions, and to show support for all unions. Other regions started having their own parades, and by 1887, Oregon, Massachusetts, New York, New Jersey and Colorado made Labor Day a state holiday. President Grover Cleveland signed an act in 1894 establishing the federal holiday. Over the years the celebration has evolved and is now more known for three distinctive events other than its original purpose.
One, it is considered the end of summer; the last long weekend to enjoy summer fun. This seems ridiculous, because in SC it will be 80 – 90 until November; there is still plenty of time to sweat.
Two, it is the end of wearing white. This old tradition goes back to the late Victorian era, where it was a fashion faus pax to wear any white clothing after the summer officially ended on Labor Day. The tradition isn’t really followed anymore. EmilyPost.com explains the logic behind the fashion trend – white indicated you were still in vacation mode at your summer cottage.
Third, but not last, it is considered the unofficial end of hot dog season. The National Hot Dog and Sausage Council say that between Memorial Day and Labor Day, Americans will eat 7 billion hot dogs.
Pears
Pear or Apple Crisp
I used the pears in a great crisp. I was reading a book on Eating Clean and one part that resonated with me was that we have to change our way of thinking. I have heard this for years, but for some reason it hit me. The author posed a question of why do we think we can only eat toast, eggs, grits (she was not from the south so she did not say grits, I added that), bacon, etc. for breakfast? Why not eat veggies or a healthy fruit crisp? I guess my answer is, “Because it’s what I thought I was supposed to eat and/or have always ate.” So I made a pear crisp for breakfast in the morning. Bonus, I had topping left over, so I added some natural coconut, put it in a 9” cake pan, baked it with the crisp, and out came an awesome granola. So many times, I surprise myself. The original recipe came from Clean Food by Terry Walters, but of course I couldn’t stop myself from tinkering with it.

6 pears (or apples) cored, peeled and sliced
¼ cup maple syrup
2 tsp cinnamon
1 Tab whole wheat flour

Topping (If you don’t care to make granola, make half of the topping.)

2 cups rolled oats
1 cup whole wheat flour
½ cup maple syrup
1 Tab flax seed
½ cup canola oil

• Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
• Place pears in a large bowl; add syrup, cinnamon, and flour. Mix well and spread in a 2 quart baking dish which has been sprayed.
• Mix all topping ingredients together. Spread topping evenly over pears, cover with foil and bake 30 minutes. Remove foil and bake for 20 additional minutes or until pears are cooked through.
• To make the granola, add ½ cup no-sugar added coconut, stir and spread remaining topping in even layer in 9” cake pan. Put in oven with crisp, set timer for 10 minutes, stir, put back in oven for 5 minutes. Remember this is 15 minutes off the initial 30 minutes to bake the crisp.

55 days and 17.22 lbs till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

