Funnel Cake Soda?

It was a good day, down 3 more pounds. I have been staying the same it seems the last few weeks so I was a little more motivated this week and very pleased with the results. Just when you think you have seen all the craziness, there it goes again. I had to run into our local grocer to pick up some cat food this afternoon; and there it was, Funnel Cake Flavored Soda. I had to do a double take to make sure I was reading it correctly. When I got home googling began: apparently Chek Soda will be offering “Limited Edition Flavors” and the first three have been introduced. Along with the Funnel Cake, there is Topical Island and Key Lime Pie. I can only imagine the amount of sugar in these. It makes my mouth twitch thinking about it. According to the review I found on line, the Funnel Cake Soda taste like butter and smells like a funnel cake. I am guessing this is a positive? There are some hilarious YouTube videos of people trying the new flavors if you want a laugh.
Today is a day the world will always remember. I remember exactly where I was when I heard about the first plane hitting the tower and thinking it had to be an accident, but soon we all realized it was no accident. I teach Asbestos Training to Utility personnel, and during my research I found some very interesting information about asbestos and the World Trade Centers. During construction of the towers, asbestos was being sprayed as a flame retardant to insulate the steel floor system. This would provide an extra four hours for evacuation in case of fire. During this time, the asbestos scares were becoming more prevalent and the use of asbestos was halted. Both towers had asbestos sprayed up to the sixty-fourth floor. Herbert Levine, who invented spray fireproofing with wet asbestos in the late-1940s, frequently said, “if a fire breaks out above the 64th floor, that building will fall down.“ As discovered after the use was halted, Mr. Levine was using the safest method possible. One I teach today for operators who have to work with asbestos. Both towers were hit above the sixty-fourth floor. One World Trade Center’s beams lasted one hour and forty minutes and Two World Trade Center beams lasted fifty-six minutes before melting and the buildings collapsing. This is a prime example that if used correctly and safely, everything has a place in this world. Too often knee jerk reactions are made instead of gathering more information. I have no idea if more lives would have been spared, but I truly believe they would have a much longer time to evacuate.

Pear Muffins
One more pear recipe since I am still enjoying my pears. I made these last week when I was at McCormick for my daughter and her friends to have before heading out early Saturday morning for the Clemson football game. They were all gone by Sunday and daughter called to get the recipe to make more.

1 cup oat bran hot cereal (This can be found in the cereal isle.)
1 ½ cup whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
2/3 cup yogurt
1/3 cup oil
2/3 cup honey
1 teaspoon (6g) pure vanilla extract
2 cups peeled & and diced into small cubes, very ripe pears (about 3 pears or 17 oz)
½ tsp ground ginger.

• Place oven rack in middle of oven and heat oven to 375°. Grease or spray a standard size muffin pan
• Combine oat bran, whole wheat flour, baking soda, baking powder, ginger, and salt in a large bowl. Mix in eggs, yogurt, oil, honey, and vanilla, mix with a rubber spatula just until combined. It was a little dry so I had to add some almond milk until I got a good muffin consistency.
• Gently stir in the pears.
• Generously fill the muffin cups with batter.
• Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 25 to 30 minutes. Cool muffins in pan for 10 to 15 minutes, then carefully remove from pan and serve warm, or let cool on a wire rack.

51 days and 14.22 lbs till Disney Food & Wine. (Actually our dates have changed, but I will keep the same for less confusion.)

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

