Apples & Hops

Other than the return of college football, this weather makes me crazy for apples; fresh, local, unwaxed apples. Not pumpkin, pumpkin pie, or pumpkin pie spice as many people seem to be going crazy over and announcing the return of on Face Book. About the only food, so far, I enjoy with pumpkin is Whole Wheat Mocha Pumpkin Muffins, recipe to follow soon. A group to schedule an apple picking trip to Sky Top Apple Orchard in Flat Rock, NC. I did some googling and discovered that there are some (a lot) of breweries around Flat Rock, Hendersonville area; some we have not yet visited and many more. I have suggested an Apple & Hops Day.
Speaking of football, I try to remember it’s just a game. Yes, I want my team to win and my “enemy” team to lose. No, I do not pull for the other SC team when they are not playing my team. I am a true fan and only pull for two teams, mine and whoever is playing the other SC team; however, I do not put rude or “immature” post on Face Book during or after either team wins or loses. I am amazed how rude and immature some people get, and that goes for both teams. There are people I actually “unfriend” during football season because I am embarrassed for them. In their rants about the other team’s fans, the referees, the coaches, etc, I am just embarrassed. In my many years of watching football, there is very seldom an instance when the referees truly lost a game, it’s usually the players and coaches. Just a fact, but if claiming the referees are against your team makes you feel good goes for it. But I repeat, it’s a game.

Apple-Cinnamon Steel Cut Oats in the Crockpot
I have always been a big on breakfast and I made this recipe the other night and it was wonderful the next morning. Roomie thought it needed more cinnamon, but I did not. I cut up an apple the night before and put it in the refrigerator and added it to our “to go” cups the next morning. I also added some sliced almonds. I put this in the refrigerator and we heated it up several days.

1 ½ cup steel cut oat (These are not old fashioned, but steel cut, basically the oat cut in half.)
1 ½ cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (I didn’t have vanilla so I added 1 tsp vanilla to crock pot.)
5 cups water
½ cup unsweetened applesauce
¼ cup pure stevia
1 ½ Tab cinnamon
¼ fresh grated nutmeg
½ tsp salt

• Spray crockpot and add all items to crock pot and stir.
• Cook on low for 8 hours.
• WARNING – It will look like mud the next morning, just give it a stir and all is good.

48 days and 174.22 lbs till Disney Food & Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

