Gulp!

I have been on the road yesterday and today, loving this weather, so when I returned today from my trip to Williston, I decided to treat myself to an iced latte. This is the only food/drink item I still consume with milk; I use unsweet almond milk for everything else. I placed my order; venti non-fat iced latte with light ice and pulled to the window as instructed. I have had prior issues with them trying to put less milk since I ask for light ice, so when I was handed a cup which was ¾ full I politely asked that it be filled to the top with milk. I was told, very politely I will add, that they were out of venti cold cups and this was the trenta cold cup so the drink inside was a venti. I got all kinds of confused and just took my drink. When I got home I googled to find the large size offered by Starbucks now is a 31 ounces trenta. I will not be making that purchase for many reasons, I don’t need that much milk or coffee at one time nor do I even want to know the price for the extra 7 ounces. As it often does when doing research, getting the answer to one question only leads to more questions. While on the Starbucks page I noticed a cold venti is 24 ounces while a hot venti is 20 ounces. I understand that with an ice drink you actually receive less drink, why anywhere I am buying iced latte or iced tea, I ask for light ice, but shouldn’t a venti be a standard size? A short, tall, or grande are the same size whether hot or iced. Is that like saying a cold Big Gulp soft drink is 32 ounces, but a Big Gulp Slurpee is only 30 ounces; makes no sense. While I have not purchased a Big Gulp in many years, I had to do some research to find out how many ounces it contained, and once again this lead to some new interesting and scary knowledge. One of the scary ones, according to an article titled, The Tall, Cold Tale of the Big Gulp Thanks to 7-Eleven By Robert Klara,” the average American citizen will drink 44 gallons of soft drinks this year, and a good many of them will head off to the local 7-Eleven to fill up.” Let me put that in perspective: the average car gas tanks hold 16 gallons, so that would be equivalent to drinking 3.44 tanks of gas. The article goes on to say, “In fact, 7-Eleven dispenses 38 million gallons of soda per annum.” The Big Gulp was the first 32-ounce cup, introduced 39 years ago, and it has only gotten bigger with the 44 ounce Super Big Gulp and the 64 ounce Double Gulp. Yikes!
Asian Pork-Bok Choy-Veggie
I had some bok choy in the refrigerator that needed to be used so I searched the world wide web and combined several recipes and hit the jack pot. Add any veggies you prefer or take out what you don’t prefer.

6 – 8 oz pork loin (I had 3 large bone-in pork chops I used)
½ cup shredded carrots
2 baby bok choy
1 red bell pepper
1 small onion
2 garlic cloves
½ tsp grated ginger
1 tsp vegetable oil
2 tsp corn starch
¾ tsp honey
2 Tab soy sauce
¼ cup water
*Red pepper flakes
Rice noodles – You can use angel hair spaghetti, but these make it fun.

• In a small bowl add soy sauce, corn starch, honey, and water. Mix well and set aside.
• Prepare rice noodles according to package directions. Pour hot water over noodles and let sit for 10 minutes, cut with kitchen shears and drain.
• Cut off the ends of the bok choy, separate stems, and wash. Cut stems and leaves into ½ inch strips. Cut red pepper and onions into thin strips, set aside.
• Cut pork into thin strips, set aside.
• Heat oil in a large skillet on medium-high; add ginger, garlic, and pork. Cook for 3 minutes stirring frequently. Add onions, pepper, and carrots, cook 5 minutes.
• Stir sauce and add to pan along with bok choy. Stir well, reduce heat, cover pan, and cook for 4-5 minutes.
• *I don’t like my food extremely spicy so I put about ½ tsp red pepper flakes in the skillet and added another ½ tsp to individual bowls of those who prefer it spicier.
• Serve over drained rice noodles.

47 days and 174.22 lbs till Disney Food & Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

