Just Not a Good Look For Her

Okay, wrote this yesterday and forgot to post last night. Recipe was delicious.
What a great weekend. I had a very busy work week last week so Saturday, I set up in front of the TV for a day of college football and some sewing projects that had been rattling around in my mind for quite a while. I love it when I see piece of fabric turn into the final project that closely resembles the picture in my mind. Of course that does not always happen, but it did this weekend in the form of a long overdue baby gift and a pocketbook. After church yesterday I packed up and headed to McCormick for some one-on-one time with daughter for a few days. We have so much fun being together cooking, and she keeps me motivated with exercise. Last night we made some delicious mushroom spinach enchiladas. I am so glad both my children enjoy trying new recipes and experimenting with new foods.
I have been tied to the computer most of last week and looks like I will be also this week. When I’m working on the computer at home I usually stream Disney Radio. Roomie and I gave up cable in February and have been surprised how little we have missed it. We stream live football games on the laptop which we connect to the TV. I have the TV on in the background this morning at daughters, and every talk show was discussing the “Fashion Hits and Misses” at the Emmy’s last night. I now know why I didn’t become a famous actress in Hollywood. Okay, I know one reason why I didn’t become a famous actress in Hollywood. Not one person has critiqued my outfit today, but if you are wondering; lovely comfortable black gym shorts by Old Navy with a nice crisp race t-shirt by Gildan accentuated with a pair of flip flops. I have been amazed at how every inch of these outfits are discussed. I am pretty sure some of these outfits cost more than all the clothes in my closet but the people who are wearing them and could afford them, pay nothing. They wear them just so the designers name gets mentioned. The descriptions I heard were “amazing”, “daring”, “she really stepped outside the safe zone”, “poor color choice”, “not her best look”. I assume part of being in the profession is that you are constantly criticized every time you step out and I am guessing the job of the critics is to be critical.

Tofu Chickpea Stir Fry with Tahini Sauce
This will be our dinner tonight. Each bowl will be topped with a fried egg. The recipe came from The Kitchen blog. If you are marinating and baking your own tofu, which is delicious by itself, marinate the night or morning before.

Sauce:

1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons water
1/4 cup tahini
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
2 teaspoons honey
1 teaspoon minced ginger
For the stir fry:

1 tablespoon peanut oil
1 cup chickpeas, drained and rinsed if using canned
2 teaspoons ginger
1/2 medium red onion, thinly sliced
1 red or orange bell pepper, diced
8 ounces baked tofu, cubed
3-4 cups cooked rice or other grains
Toasted sesame seeds
• Stir together the ingredients for the sauce and set near the stove.
• In a wok or large skillet, heat the peanut oil over medium-high heat. Add chickpeas, stirring and tossing for about 2 minutes, until the chickpeas start to pop. Stir in the minced ginger and continue to cook for one more minute.
• Add the onions and the peppers to the wok along with the chickpeas and cook until onions are tender, 2 to 3 minutes. Toss in the baked tofu, cooking and stirring until tofu is golden and chickpeas are browning, 4 to 6 minutes (this timing will be depend on your heat source).
• Pour the tahini sauce over the tofu and cook mixture for 60 seconds, just enough time to heat the sauce. Serve over grains and top with minced chives and toasted sesame seeds.

41 days and 17.22 lbs till Disney Food & Wine

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

