Request

Staying at daughter’s one more night then back home. She requested the Tomato Cobbler I posted Sep. 3. It is baking in the oven and the tomatoes, goat cheese, and thyme has the house smelling wonderful. The biscuit topping calls for 4 Tab corn meal so when we were shopping Sunday, we decided instead of buying a 2 lbs bag of corn meal, we would just buy a popular brand of corn muffin mix for $0.79, use 4 Tablespoon and throw the rest out. I don’t know if I mentioned I was Lexington County Cornbread winner in my teens for three years in a row, so I had never bought a box of cornbread mix except for the food drive at church. I went to open it today to make the topping, flipped it over to look at the ingredients and threw it in the trash without taking the 4 Tablespoon out. The first ingredients I could understand, wheat, flour, degerminated yellow corn meal, sugar, and animal shortening (lard). Well daughter is a vegetarian, so it was out on the lard, but there were fifteen additional ingredients after those mentioned above that were not pronounceable or either acronyms. This is scary. But the degerminated yellow corn meal kept nagging me as to what it was. Corn kernels consist of three parts—the oil and vitamin-rich germ, the fibrous hull, and the starchy endosperm. Whole grain contains all three parts, de-germinated contains only the endosperm. So basically the throw away part of the corn is used and is why it can be sold at such low cost. It is basically the same as eating plastic.
Whole Wheat German Pancakes with Pears
This is a great breakfast or dessert.

2 tablespoons unsalted butter
4 large eggs
1 cup reduced fat (2%) milk
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
2 pears, cored and thinly sliced

• Preheat oven to 425°F. Place butter in a large (11- or 12-inch) cast iron or ovenproof skillet and heat in the oven until butter is melted, about 3 minutes.
• Meanwhile, in a blender, combine eggs, milk, cane sugar, cinnamon and salt. Blend until smooth. Add flour and blend again. Remove skillet from oven, swirl butter to coat the bottom and sides of the pan, and pour in the batter. Top with pears and bake until the pancake is puffed and browned and pears are tender, 18 to 20 minutes. Sprinkle with powdered sugar and cut into wedges for serving.

40 days and 17.22 lbs till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

