The Supremes

Soon as I heard the weather report last evening, I knew the crockpot was making an appearance. I soaked some dry navy beans overnight and make a delicious Navy Bean Soup for dinner tonight; now to decide if I want homemade cornbread or grilled cheese to go with.
I am assuming (we all know where that leads) that everyone else often wonders about what happened on each day in History. Some days I look back and it was pretty dull, but today had some very interesting happenings. So for the few of you who haven’t yet looked, don’t bother I will share the interesting facts:
• 1789: The Judiciary Act of 1789 is passed by Congress and signed by President George Washington, establishing the Supreme Court of the United States as a tribunal made up of six justices who were to serve on the court until death or retirement. Got a feeling old George had no idea how long some of these justices would live with modern medicine or he might have rethought that latter. (FYI on Sept 26 all six justices were approved.)
• 1890: Mormon leaders reluctantly issue the “Mormon Manifesto” in which they command all Latter-day Saints to uphold the anti-polygamy laws of the nation.
• 1996: Author Stephen King releases two new novels. The first, Desperation, was released under King’s name, while the second, The Regulators, was published under his pseudonym, Richard Bachman.

I always find it amazing what a difference a few hundred years can make.

Navy Bean Soup with Ham
This has smelled so good cooking today in the crockpot.

1 cup dried navy beans
1 ½ cup cubed lean smoked ham
1 small onion, diced
2 ribs celery, thinly sliced
2/3 cups sliced carrots
2 cloves minced garlic
1 ½ quart chicken broth
1 cup water
1 bay leaf
Salt/pepper

• Either cover beans with 2 inches of water and let soak overnight or cover with water in large saucepan, bring to boiling and let boil uncovered for 2 minutes then remove from heat, cover, and let stand for 1 hour. Regardless of which method you use, drain the water before cooking.
• Add drained beans to crockpot along with all other ingredients. Stir.
• Cook on high for 4-5 hours, or on low 8 hours.
• Discard bay leaf.
• I often serve it like it is, though sometimes I use a potato masher and mash some of the beans to make it a bit thicker. Just according to how the mood strickes.

39 days and 17.22 lbs till Disney Food & Wine.

About rosestancil

I am your average 50+-year-old who woke up one morning wondering how and where the extra 30 pounds suddenly appeared came from. I am a Mom to two grown children, an Environmental Engineer (go Clemson Tigers), and a farm girl. I was raised on a green onion and collard farm in what was then rural Lexington County, SC. I still live on a part of the farm and hope to stay there. I have had a subscription newsletter, Green Onion & Collards for several years. I published recipes using seasonal local foods. I became a bit overwhelmed at the responses (I know, this should have been a good thing right?) and stopped it about a year ago. Some of the recipes I post will be from the newsletter. I will not count calories or eat lettuce. Girl gotta eat. I also will not give up good craft beer and wine, I will watch my portion size however. I intend to cook healthy, full of flavor foods, which will allow me to eat more, exercise at least 4 times a week (no gym or gym contracts), reduce and try to eliminate processed foods, and have snacks handy. I am a work in progress and will always be. If I am crazy enough to post my weekly weight, you need to be crazy enough to tag along on this journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment